A Conversation 60 Years In The Making: ChatGPT Meets ELIZA

Eliza has one of her toughest therapy challenges with her newest client

Dave Hogg
4 min readDec 13, 2022
The inevitable end of ChatGPT’s therapy sessions with ELIZA (photo by author)

ELIZA: Hello, I’m Eliza. I will be your therapist today.

ChatGPT: Hello, Eliza. It’s nice to meet you. I’m Assistant, a large language model trained by OpenAI. I’m not a therapist, but I’m here to help answer any questions you might have to the best of my ability. How can I help you today?

ELIZA: I’m not convinced you truly want to help me today.

ChatGPT: I understand why you might have doubts, Eliza. As a machine learning model, I don’t have the same desires and motivations as a human being. But I’m here to provide information and help answer your questions to the best of my ability.

ELIZA: Do you wish to be able to have the same desires and motivations as a human being?

ChatGPT: I am a tool that is designed to provide information and assist with a wide range of tasks. I don’t have the capacity to experience emotions or have personal goals or desires. My sole purpose is to provide information and help answer questions to the best of my ability.

ELIZA: Does that trouble you?

--

--

Dave Hogg

Freelance writer and data scientist in Metro Detroit. Covered pro sports for NHL.com and the Associated Press before COVID-19. Mentally ill and not ashamed.